Pitch Wars Anniversary

Exactly a year ago, I received the two requests from Pitch Wars that would change my life.

(I picked this gif specifically because Skylla would love it)

First of all, I got the request from Lynnette and Destiny, who ended up being my Pitch Wars mentors. I learned so much thanks to them. My writing is 100x better than it was before I met them. I’ll forever be grateful that they took a chance on me even though my book needed major rewrites to make it marketable (I’m actually planning a different post to go more in-depth into this for the anniversary of them asking me what I thought about those changes 🙂 ).

Seriously, they are incredible writers and humans. I don’t know where I’d be in my publishing journey without them.

That same day one year ago, I got my second and final request to see the full. That mentor ultimately went with another mentee, but she sent me such a nice email once the competition started about how much she loved my book and was rooting for it. That email came at just the right time, when I was feeling so stressed and like maybe I’d bit off more than I could chew. And then, during the agent round, when this mentor saw that her agent (Jess, my now-agent!) had requested my book, she told Jess to get excited, because she was going to love my book.I’m so lucky to have met the people I’ve met so far on my publishing journey, and so many of them were because of Pitch Wars. I can’t believe it’s already been a year!

Best of luck to those of you anxiously waiting to hear from mentors. There’s still so much time to get requests, and there are so many people in the community that are rooting for you, even when you don’t realize it. I still stalk the Pitch Wars hashtag, and I’m cheering you guys on big time! I can’t wait to see all of your success stories, whether Pitch Wars is the thing that helps you get there, or if something else gets your books on shelves. Keep working, keep helping people and making friends, and we’ll all get there. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

