Another First Draft Down

Welp, I’ve written another first draft!

It’s pretty exciting, but also a little weird feeling. Since I decided that I wanted to take writing seriously (summer of 2012), I have completed six first drafts. I have queried two of those novels–although if we’re being real here, it’s just one. I sent out five queries for the novel before that before coming to my senses and realizing that it was just not ready.

And I’ve done so many revisions. Revisions fo dayzzz.

I know there are people out there who sell their first completed manuscript ever, who work their butts off to get that first book into shape so that it can be the one. Sometimes it’s hard not to compare myself to those people–like it’s taken you six manuscripts and you still aren’t sure any of them are ready for an agent. What’s the problem?

But other days–like today–I’m grateful for all of those words. I’ve put a lot of hours into them, and every new book I write gets a little better, a little stronger, a little closer to that goal of getting an agent. And as long as I get there, does it really matter how long it takes?

Okay, it does a little.

Like I’d rather it happen tomorrow, but I’m willing to wait. And while I wait I’m going to work as hard as I can to improve my writing, to make my plots stronger and twistier and my characters more fleshed out and deeper.

There are a lot of revisions planned for 2016, and I am excited for them… But what I really can’t wait to do is start that shiny new idea. Here’s to first drafts! 🙂

One thought on “Another First Draft Down

Leave a Reply

