Revisions, Revisited

It’s Friday again! Where did this last week go? I feel like it’s been a blur of stress and work and Christmas decorations.

If you’ve been following me at all in the last couple of months, then you know that I did a four-part vlog series on revisions. I had so much fun making it!

I am gearing up for yet another round of revisions (based on that agent rejection I talked about two months ago). And I’m honestly a little nervous about them. Though that probably doesn’t surprise you much–most things make me nervous. #anxietylyfe

I’m planning on making a pretty drastic change that will involve completely trashing a massive chunk of the book. Like, it’ll get rid of some characters that I really love and take out a piece of the magic system that I had set up. I think it’ll help the book a lot, and so in that regard I’m looking forward to it. And I’m excited to be working on a fantasy novel again. I love this contemporary, but when people’s lives aren’t at stake, it is difficult to feel like there’s much of a plot. 🙂

But also it’s going to be haaaaard and I want to whine about it.

ANYWAY. That’s not why I’m here today.

If you wanted to see that four-part revision series, I’ve embedded the video below. But I know videos aren’t everyone’s style, and YouTube’s automatic captions are really not that great, which sucks for people who are hard of hearing or deaf. SO, I’ve also written up my revision steps! Now you can print them out and do whatever you want with them.

As long as you don’t sell them, because that would be weird. Don’t make it weird.

But if you’d like to access that, you can here.

Again, a ton of my revisions process was influenced by Susan Dennard’s guide to revisions (so much so that, while going back to find the link to it, I realized some of the titles of our lessons are really similar! Whoops…)–so be sure to hit her up for even more amazing revision tactics!

Leave a Reply

