Getting Behind

I am SO behind this NaNoWriMo. And while I was sitting there, panicking and feeling depressed about it, things were just getting worse. The more I felt like I was ruining everything by not forcing myself to write, the more I felt like I couldn’t sit down to write. I started to feel like my story sucked and I had no plot and all the things I write are actually only going to damage the LGBT+ and the Mormon community because you don’t even know what you’re writing HOW CAN YOU EXPECT TO WRITE ANYTHING GOOD IF YOU CAN’T EVEN GRASP THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE WHAT DECENT WRITER USES AS MUCH CAPS LOCK AS YOU DO.

(in case you couldn’t tell, I depression-spiral when I feel like I’m not doing enough…)

But I don’t think I’m alone in feeling this way. I think it’s pretty normal to hit the middle of your book and start feeling like you have no direction and no clue what you are doing. And I think that feeling that way doesn’t necessarily mean that I (or you, if you’re feeling like this) don’t know what I’m doing. Or that I can’t figure out what I’m doing in revisions.

(aforementioned beautiful, inspiring place)

(aforementioned beautiful, inspiring place)

So I went to a beautiful, inspiring place and thought about my plot and why I love this story. I wrote down some of the ideas for scenes that I wanted to come next. Then when I got home I took a nap. And THEN I sat down and made myself start writing.

And things went so well! So much of writer’s block is just fear of moving forward, and the second I looked that fear in the face and said,”Shut up. I’m telling this story,” everything went so much smoother.

So if you’re also hitting a block in your writing, tell your fears to shove it. Then write your story.

3 thoughts on “Getting Behind

  1. bigbux43 says:

    I’m toying with an idea of making one of my character part of a same sex couple but am scared silly to try. The thing I’m afraid of is the loss of respect from our writing community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

