On Waiting (And waiting. And waiting.)

I figured it was probably time for another thrilling, edge-of-your-seat QUERYING UPDATE! Please, please, try to contain your excitement.

Super-fun querying moments seem to come in waves for me. Like, one week things will be so crazy OMG SLOW DOWN I’M NOT READY FOR THIS and then the next I’ll be sitting in my desk chair (probably in pajamas) refreshing my email and wondering where I went wrong. They asked for my full, so why has it been a year since I heard anything? I nudged like I was supposed to. I thought my book was decent enough to read. Isn’t that what they thought, too, since they requested it?

OH GOD WHAT IF MY BOOK IS ACTUALLY GARBAGE AND I SHOULD THROW OUT MY COMPUTER AND CUT OFF MY FINGERS SO THAT THE WORLD WILL NEVER BE CURSED WITH MY WORDS AGAIN.

…yes, there are really that many capitalized words in my head.

But I wouldn’t trade it for anything (except maybe a few agents fighting over my book and then the next month a few editors fighting over it, but I think that’s probably obvious). Because even though this part–all of the waiting and the getting your hopes up only to find a rejection (or worse, no response at all)–is tough, it’s also exactly what I wanted. A year and a half ago I was desperate to have a manuscript that was ready to be queried. I looked up to authors who were thickening their skin and taking tough feedback and wearing their rejections like badges of honor.

So if you’re in the same position as me, be proud. It took a lot of work to get to the point where people can reject your work. And if you’re hoping to be at this point soon, know that it is hard. Enjoy where you are too, because you can never go back to that completely free feeling of writing with the doors closed, knowing that no one is going to be criticizing your work anytime soon. And if you’ve gotten past both of those stages and have an agent and potentially even a book deal…maybe send some of your good vibes my way. 😉

One thought on “On Waiting (And waiting. And waiting.)

  1. Ellie says:

    I am right here with you; chin deep in the Querying Trenches. I have 4 fulls and 5 partials out right now and I’m forever weeping and wondering if they’re reading it and what do they think and *head explodes*
    Good luck on your journey! 😀 *fist pump*

    Like

Leave a Reply

