Sick the Last Week of NaNo

So 10kTuesday was a huge success, even though I didn’t get to 10,000. I got around 8,000 words, my personal best for a single day! It was hard, but not as difficult as I thought it would be. I was at a part I had been dying to write, so the words just poured out. It involved the violent death of a major character, and the first major hints at the big twist. It was a blast (y’know, as much of a blast as brutally killing a character can be).

It was looking like I was sure to win NaNoWriMo, and then… THANKSGIVING.

I am allergic to cats and wire-haired dogs, and my in-laws have two cats and one wire-haired dog. Normally I take some allergy meds and then I’m okay, but for some reason this time my body just shut down. Asthma attacks nonstop, allergy medicine not working, and the asthma medicine making me feel wretched. Like yeah, it’s nice that I can breathe, but does my heart rate really need to be up at 120bpm for the next hour to make up for it?

And then I took DayQuil in a last-ditch attempt to make myself feel better, and it worked a little but it also tasted like satan’s piss and I’m just not sure that the pain was worth it.

Ugh.

Needless to say, my word counts haven’t been great these last few days, and I’ve gotten behind in basically everything. I miss my house, where words came out great and I didn’t feel like I was dying all the time.

I’m currently at 40,570 words, so I haven’t thrown in the towel yet. I’m so close to 50k, and I know that regular me could finish this, easy. But sick, at-my-in-laws’-until-Sunday me? I’m not so sure. My brain is so fuzzy and writing a single sentence is agonizing.

If I cross this finish line, it will be crawling on my hands and knees, gasping for breath. But it will be glorious, nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

