NaNoWriMo Day 1 (+GIVEAWAY WINNER!)

NaNoWriMo is upon us! I had high hopes for today… Planned on writing all the words (y’know, 50,000 today seemed pretty reasonable), and planned on still getting proper nourishment and maybe seeing my husband once or twice.

Of course, it didn’t go quite like that. I’ve been sick all week and FINALLY thought it was over yesterday, but woke up with the worst sore throat of my life this morning. And then my husband was finishing up his applications for PhD programs, so I had to help him proof all of that. And then (of course) something went terribly wrong there. And the whole time, I still wasn’t quite sure what my killer opening line was going to be…

Needless to say, 9pm rolled around and I was feeling pretty disheartened. Because obviously if you botch the first day of NaNo, your whole experience is screwed, right?

But then I watched this commencement speech, given by Neil Gaiman. And OH MAN was I on fire after that! I think this man could read a grocery list and it would move me to tears. You should definitely check it out if you are in need of some inspiration!

I managed to get a little over 2,000 words, and am feeling PUMPED for tomorrow! What about you? (Also, be my NaNo buddy! I add everyone back!)

And FINALLY, thanks so much to everyone who entered the giveaway! I loved reading about all of your villains! The winner is… *drumroll*
.
.
.
Jehoia Cato!

Congrats! I’ll be emailing you to let you know as well, so be on the lookout for that!

Leave a Reply

