I Wanna Be Like You-u-u (Published Authors)

So it’s been awhile since I’ve updated, and it’s been an interesting couple of weeks to say the least.  I did a video for the WordNerds awhile back about my writing process and a little bit about how I decided to structure it, so definitely check that out below:

And since then things have been going decently. I’ve kept to my writing schedule for the most part, save for the last week or so. Getting sick and having a job interview have slowed things down a bit, and my Camp NaNoWriMo word count is definitely suffering as a result. But today I was able to get in a solid 3300 words, so that’s good right?

I’ve mostly been thinking about writing as a career lately (not surprising, right?). Guys, writing is HARD. Like, really hard. Especially with things like Twitter and Facebook and YouTube. It’s a miracle, being able to communicate with so many amazing people all at once, but it’s also easy to put all of this pressure on yourself.

“Oh look, so-and-so had her first book signing!”
“Get this, so-and-so got an agent!”
“This person finished revisions and doesn’t feel like crap about the final result!”*

I’d love to know how y’all manage pressure you put on yourselves, because I feel like sometimes I handle it well, and other times I just want to eat a lot of candy.  So much candy. I know I chose a really difficult road in deciding to go the traditional publishing route (is there really any easy route in publishing a book? The answer is, unequivocally, NO), and I get that things won’t always go according to my plans.  But MAN. Sometimes I wish I could fast forward to the time when I’m finally posting about getting an agent, or selling a book, or holding my first copy of a book I wrote.

I know that day will come. And I hope you know it will come for you too, if you want it badly enough.

I guess until then I’ll have to settle for watching other authors announce their good news. Seeing the complete joy on other people’s faces when they realize their years of  work has paid off makes me want to be there so bad. In a good, want to get my butt in that chair and type until my wrists hurt kind of way. Here’s a few of my favorites:

Sarah J. Maas
Susan Dennard
Lindsay Cummings

Have you seen any awesome bookish success posts/vlogs lately? And how do you manage the pressure that comes from being surrounded by so much awesome news?

*But SERIOUSLY guys. This one deserves a post all to itself.

Leave a Reply

