Something AWESOME

Okay, can we just talk for a second about Brandon Sanderson? His most recent book, STEELHEART, came out last month (I believe), and I can’t wait to get my hands on it! It looks like it will be a great read.

Brandon Sanderson is also a creative writing professor at my alma mater. An AMAZING professor. Every semester his class fills up on the first day of registration, and even then dozens of people who couldn’t get on the roster show up and wait for him to tell them to leave. Next semester, the rumor is he’s getting an auditorium for his class so that more people can take it.

I was always jealous of those who were able to take his class, since I always had too strict of a schedule to add it. But NOW… Anyone can see his lectures! He is posting all of his lectures onto YouTube from the current semester. I have watched the first few and am loving it. He specializes in Sci-Fi/Fantasy writing, but I would say these lectures are great for anyone interested in honing in on their craft. You’ve GOT to check it out!

Here’s the link to the very first video (NOTE: in the first lecture, I skipped a couple of the videos since they were about classroom workshopping, of which I won’t be doing since I’m watching as a fly on the wall… I would recommend doing the same, since the lectures are pretty long):

Leave a Reply

