English Adjectives

It has a nice ring to it, no?

So, lately I have been watching a ton of J.K. Rowling documentaries and interviews, and while doing that, one adjective has taking root in my heart. It’s one we don’t really use in the US, but I think that should change. That word? BOOKISH.

Here’s a quick definition, just in case you’re not sure what that means:


book·ish

  [book-ish]

adjective
1. given or devoted to reading or study.
2. more acquainted with books than with real life.

SO cute, right? And sounds a lot less negative than super-geek-who-can’t-keep-up-with-reality. So if you’re with me, I think I’m going to use this adjective pretty frequently, from now on.
Leave a Reply

